Prabha Varma Bags Saraswati Samman 2023

Prabha Varma Bags Saraswati Samman 2023

Award Details: Prabha Varma, a noted poet and litterateur, was awarded the prestigious Saraswati Samman for 2023 by the K K Birla Foundation for his novel ‘Roudra Sathwikam’.

Novel Description: ‘Roudra Sathwikam’ is a poetic work published in 2022 as a novel in poetic verse. It delves into the conflict between power and politics, individual and state, and art and power in a unique manner, transcending time and space.

Selection Process: The selection committee, headed by former Supreme Court judge Justice Arjan Kumar Sikri, chose Prabha Varma as the awardee.

About Prabha Varma:

  • Birth: Prabha Varma was born in Thiruvalla, Kerala, in 1959.
  • Literary Works: He has published over 30 books, including collections of poems, novels in verse, books on contemporary socio-political milieu and literature, and collections of essays in criticism.
  • Notable Works: Some of his notable works include “Souparnika, Arkkapoornima, Shyama Madhavam, Chandana Nazhi, Aardram, and Kanal Chilambu”.
  • Awards: Prabha Varma has received the Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award, the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award, the Vayalar Award, and the State and Filmfare award for best film lyrics.
  • Current Role: He serves as the media advisor to the Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan.

Saraswati Samman Overview:

  • Initiation: The Saraswati Samman was first awarded in 1991 to Harivansh Rai Bachchan for his four-volume autobiography.
  • Objective: It aims to recognize outstanding literary works published in the last 10 years in any Indian language by an Indian citizen.
  • Prize: The award includes a cash prize of Rs 15 lakhs, a citation, and a plaque.
  • Recent Winners: Past winners include poets K Ayyappa Paniker and Sugathakumari in 2005 and 2012, respectively.

K K Birla Foundation:

  • Establishment: The foundation was set up by noted industrialist Krishna Kumar Birla in 1991.
  • Objective: It aims to promote Indian literature by recognizing outstanding literary works.
  • Other Awards: The foundation also awards the Bihari Puraskar and the Vyas Samman for outstanding literary works in Hindi and Rajasthani languages, respectively.

This Post Has 2 Comments

Leave a Reply